Unknown Ammonia Spike

KMcGill

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

Relative beginner here, I am having an issue that I think is just an issue with the test kit. I have a Biocube 32 that was cycled about three months ago and all levels have been fine until one day ammonia spiked to .50ppm (Using API). I started the tank using API and have slowly been upgrading to Hanna. I have done about a 10-15% water change for the last three days but the levels do not change (using API). The issue is I am waiting on the Hanna tester reagent to come in the mail. I used the last of my Hanna stuff on a Red Sea reefer 350 as it’s starting its cycle. I am confused on the spike and have seen in the past huge differences in the results between my Hanna and the API. Should I be doing anything different or what am I missing?

I have not added anything recently but coral and I have an in house plumed in RO/DI system. None of the livestock looks to be hurting or unhappy.

Biocube 32 equipment
- protein skimmer
-intank media/filter insert
-seachem Matrix
-carbon
-intank refugium
-chaeto
-hygger heaters
- galaxypods (added long before the livestock)
-Red Sea coral pro salt used

livestock
-1 DaVinci clown
-1 royal Gramma
-1 fire goby
-1 cleaner shrimp
-5 Small scarlet hermit crabs
-2 tiger conches
-5 snails
-2 turbo snails
-torch coral
-star polyps
-pulsating Xenia
-clove polyps-
-Duncan’s

Levels
Ammonia- .50 (API)
Nitrite- 0.00 (API)
Nitrate- 0.00 (API)
Phosphate- 0.00 (Hanna)
Calcium- 440 (API)
Alkalinity- 9.5 (Hanna)
Salinity - 1.025
Ph- 8.0 (API)
Temp- 77.5-78.9

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
API could easily yield false results based on advice I’ve heard here. Are you certain nothing has changed? Nothing died? Did you do any scape changes or stir up sand? It’s simply impossible for it to spike for no reason, try to think about anything that may have happened or changed

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges