upgrading 20 to 60

crocodile receptionist

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I am fairly new to the hobby, and I would like to learn as much as possible so I can raise my chances for success. I previously had a freshwater tank for years and about 6 months ago I decided it was time to start saltwater, becasue I like a challenge. I had converted my old tank which is a 20-gallon tank to saltwater. I gave my friend all of the freshwater fish. I have had my 20-gallon saltwater tank running for about 3 months and then I decided that if I was going to put in all the time and effort I would like a bigger tank so the water parameters would not fluctuate as much. A couple of days ago I purchased a 60-gallon tank. I have an aqua clear 110 hang on the back filter running on it right now, with nature ocean live sand, also I am using RODI water. I don't have enough space to have both tanks running for a long time so, I am planning on in around a week to add my Orchid Dottyback and 2 ocellaris clownfish to the 60-gallon tank. I also made the mistake of buying a LTA too early, I know this was a bad mistake but I can't do anything about it now and I have learned. i have around 12 pounds of live rock in the 20 gallon and I just got 10 more pounds of live rock. Does anyone have any tips on how I should approach this becasue there is not a lot of info on transferring aquariums? Thanks!!!

GoldeneyeRet

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would cure the new liverock in the new tank. Once it is cured so there is no ammonia I would add the contents of your 20 and take down the 20. This should not cause a any problem as long as that new liverock is cured. I could not tell if you currently have the clownfish in your 20, but if not then I would wait a month or so before buying them. If you already have them in the 20 and the liverock can handle the bioload you should be fine.

Good Luck!