What is this SPS?

Dana Jackson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A friend gave me this SPS. Im new to them and have no idea what this is or how to care for it. Her tank is bombing, I probably have better water quality in my toilet than she has in her tank..lol.. Seriously, its bad. Im trying to save this dude. Any help?

0306172126b.jpg

0306172126.jpg

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, it's in bad shape. Maybe Stylophora or green birds nest. I would suggest placing it low near the sand bed for a week to allow it to acclimate to your lights, then raise it up in a week and then raise it again after that. Keep your alkalinity around 8- 9 dkh, calcium 350-400 and mag around 1350-1400.

OP
OP
Dana Jackson

Dana Jackson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks! I hope it does better. Poor guy... Yes, Im keeping LPS with great success. My water paparameters are always really good. Sometimes my Nitrates run a little high ( around 10ppm) when Im due a water change. .. Im running Sea gel for phosphate removal. And have started dosing calcium. Everything stays pretty stable, much to my surprise, in a first time nano. My friend cant seem to keep her SG stable, much less anything else, bless her heart. She has some Monty cap ill probably acquire as well. Free is good, I guess.

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I run no3 between 5-10ppm all the time and my SPS and LPS love it and you always want a little/trace po4.

Stability is key in keeping SPS and as long as you test for alkalinity once a week and keep it 8-9 dkh, they will do fine. Just don't adjust more than 1 dkh a day to keep at 8-9.

I use this calculator for dosing: http://reef.diesyst.com/chemcalc/chemcalc.html

saltyhog

blowing bubbles somewhere
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0