what kind of starfish is this

iamahab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was told by a worker at petco that this is a chocolate chip starfish. I'm new to this ( 6 months) so I took her word, now I know a bit more and I'm almost certain this isn't a choc chip starfish. Does anyone know what kind of starfish this is? He/she is a weird little guy, it disappears into the rocks for weeks at a time. It hasn't gotten any bigger than when I first got it months ago.

Screen Shot 2021-11-24 at 7.03.11 AM.png Screen Shot 2021-11-24 at 7.02.58 AM.png

LiveFreeAndReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tough to tell from the pictures, but it looks like an asterina starfish. Common hitchhikers, part of the clean-up crew. People will claim they eat coral but many more people have kept them with corals and never had a problem

flyingscampi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Asterina star, it won't get bigger but is likely to multiply. Asterinas spend all day eating algae, so I like them. I don't have any zoas however...

My population has taken a hit recently, the hermit is looking plump so he is the likely culprit..

OP
OP
iamahab

iamahab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a blue asterina star. Imo unwanted pest. I've seen them eat Zoa's directly from the frag discs.

Did Petco Sell you this as a CC star?
Yes they said it was a chocolate chip starfish. I've caught him on my zoa frags before so I moved him to my fowlr tank that I recently started putting zoas in. What should I do?

OP
OP
iamahab

iamahab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Asterina star, it won't get bigger but is likely to multiply. Asterinas spend all day eating algae, so I like them. I don't have any zoas however...

My population has taken a hit recently, the hermit is looking plump so he is the likely culprit..
I have my frags on a rack so my hermits can not crawl all over them but the starfish can get to them