What pump to use for 25w UV ??

Ecotech Marine

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
So I want to hook up my aqua uv. It says I should run it 1200 gph to 800 gph.
I assume the 800 is for sterilization and 1200 is for algae
Is this correct ?
I have a waterbox 110
If I use a separate pump what would you suggest ?
If I plum it in line I have a eflux and max is 1900 gph
Either way I don't have a flow monitor to tell me what is going thru the uv.
So what would you do ?
Was hoping to do it this weekend
Really wanted to just plum it looped thru the return pump but how does one know the flow thru it ?

Screenshot_20210409-191536_Drive.jpg
 
Corals.com
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
Thanks @vetteguy53081 that is about 700 gph probably slightly less that would be good for a reef. I think I could fit one of them in my skimmer area and have it retirn to the return section of the sump or the tank ?
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
44,277
Reaction score
100,991
Location
Wisconsin-Florida in a year
Thanks @vetteguy53081 that is about 700 gph probably slightly less that would be good for a reef. I think I could fit one of them in my skimmer area and have it retirn to the return section of the sump or the tank ?
Yes. The 5.0 pump will be over 900gph
 
Corals.com
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
8000 model of what pump? I dont have a whole lot of room for it and really wasn't looking to spend big money on a pump. But I do agree with you on the DC and control you would have with it.
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
Ok also I have been thinking about this and I was going to have the pump in the sump and have it returned into the tank. If it's at 600 to 700 gph it would just be like a powerhead in the tank.
I was going to use flexible hose to the uv and out thru the wall then hard plum it into the tank.
Any thoughts
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
Ok if someone can help with this.
Still thinking about how to hook this up. I dont have room for another pump with out putting it in my refugium area. And I can do that but don't want to.
So if I hook it up to the main return pump like my diagram shows I have a few questions.
1. How to I know the flow thru it I don't have an Apex so need to know that. I have a 1500gph or a M2 that's 2000gph.
2. Does my diagram look correct ?
3. Do I put a gate valve on each end or just on 1 of the ends and if only one valve do I put it on the in or out line?
Thanks for your help
 

Attachments

  • 16185854385685408225174532522767.jpg
    16185854385685408225174532522767.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 31
Zoanthids

DCR

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
350
Reaction score
230
You will get almost no flow through the UV with that arrangement as it will take the path of least resistance through the by-pass. You would need to add a throttling valve in the by-pass line around the UV and pinch down on it to get the flow going to the UV. The downside is that you will reduce the total return flow to the tank and may have to increase pump speed. You have a pretty strong pump so you may just run it at higher speed and it will be fine. You do not need those high flow rates that Aqua lists to control effectively control algae.
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
Ok thank you.
What would you suggest ? Short of another pump. I did figure I would want like 500 to 600 gph thru the uv.
I have no idea what a throttling valve is.
If I put it straight in line with the return pump I believe the flow would be to high.
It's a 110g so if I do it straight thru at say 800 gph that about 7 times turn over for the tank.
This would be way easier if I had a bigger sump lol
 

FishGeist

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
77
Reaction score
73
I direct plumbed my 25w Pentair with a bypass and unions into the outflow, in other words, all water that comes from the sump goes through the Pentair 25w from the Vectra S2 to the outflow. No seperate pump needed.
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
I see what your saying now by a throttling valve I looked it up so basically a gate valve that is past where the T is to go into the uv.
At that point I might just hook it up straight thru the uv and skip the throttle valve and try to control it with the pumps control ?
 
RAP Orlando

FishGeist

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
77
Reaction score
73
75 gallon display 30 gallon sump, 20 gallon refuigium. S2 has plenty of power for all 3 even with my convoluted plumbing. S2 runs at 70% in Mobius. No problems with ICH/disease with 12 fish running 1.5 years.
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
So your around 900 gph and your good. Ok well thats where I'm around now without the uv so I could power it up some and get the flow. It would be a whole lot easier
 

DCR

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
350
Reaction score
230
Make sure you have at least 1" pipe or tubing (or larger) on the UV if you want 500-600 gph through the UV. Some of the UV supplied barbs are very small and will restrict the return flow more than you will want.
 
OP
R

rockdiver

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
538
Reaction score
208
Location
chicago
Well have the UV all hooked up.
Using my M1 pump at 60% so that's like 1200 gph ? Going to lower it to 45 or 50 % after I'm sure it's all good.
I used about 7 feet of horizontal hose and really only about 2 foot vertical. So what would that be in gph loss ?
I know they say I think 1 gph for every 10 feet of horizontal and 1 gph for every foot vertical ?
Is this correct ?
Thanks
 

Attachments

  • 20210418_102633.jpg
    20210418_102633.jpg
    169.9 KB · Views: 18
  • 20210418_102642.jpg
    20210418_102642.jpg
    180.7 KB · Views: 18
Zoanthids

When is the last time you vacuumed your sand bed?

  • A week ago

    Votes: 30 22.4%
  • A few weeks ago

    Votes: 27 20.1%
  • A few months ago

    Votes: 7 5.2%
  • It's been 6 months or more

    Votes: 9 6.7%
  • It's been over a year

    Votes: 1 0.7%
  • It's been several years

    Votes: 5 3.7%
  • I've never vacuumed the sand

    Votes: 42 31.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 13 9.7%
TSM Aquatics
Top