What's wrong with my bamboo cat shark?

ronsgirl520

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a bamboo cat shark that is a year old. Over the last few days he spins (barrel roll) constantly while trying to swim. Something is wrong but I don't know what.

All parameters are perfect. Salinity is perfect, no wires exposed by my jet. I wondered if maybe my grounding unit was going bad so I took it off. He is still spinning around and having a hard time getting food. He eats it if he is able to spin over it, but it's a struggle. Other fish in my tank are acting normal.

I feel so bad for him. What else can I do?

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh gosh... I have zero experience with sharks of any kind so i suppose I'm not much help. Let's see if we can figure this out with process of elimination. I know you said he's a year old, but how long have you had him? Any new additions to the tank or changes made recently?

OP
OP
R

ronsgirl520

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh gosh... I have zero experience with sharks of any kind so i suppose I'm not much help. Let's see if we can figure this out with process of elimination. I know you said he's a year old, but how long have you had him? Any new additions to the tank or changes made recently?

I've had him since he was still in his egg. He hatched in November 2014. Never had any problems with him before. I've read that they are sensitive to nitrates but all my levels are good. Also read that an exposed wire on jet or something not being grounded can cause this response. It seems like that is the issue but I don't see any exposed wires. Thanks for your help!

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you check for stray voltage......easy to do with a multimeter?

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0