Where to Start?

Squirrel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
I am completely new to saltwater tanks and fish. I would like to set up a smaller tank (10-20 gallons?) for a clownfish and maybe an annenome, I just have no idea where to start. You have to get the tank and everything first to let the water run for awhile right? How long should I let it run before I could add a clownfish or two, and the annenome? Also was wondering if they do better in a particular shaped tank? I would like to get one of the taller ones (taller than it is long) and just wanted to make sure it would work out ok. The type of clownfish I think I would like to get is the Percula clownfish :smile:.

Another question is, when I do run the tank without the fish (for however long is advised) should I have all the other stuff in there during this process? Such as the sand, coral and annenome? Sorry so many questions, just want to do it right the first time :bigsmile:

Thanks in advance,
-Squirrel

jedidad

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If I were you I would try to go with a larger tank if space/budget will allow. Keeping up with a small tank is much more difficult. You have to let your tank cycle first which usually takes a month or so but you have to test ammonia/nitrite/nitrate to know when it is done. I would suggest going to the New To The Hobby forum and do alot of reading. Nothing in tank except sand and rock while cycling. When tank finishes cycle you can add a pair of clownfish. Most people recommend waiting at least 6 months before adding an anemone to a new tank. There is a lot more you need to learn so start reading and don't be afraid to ask many questions. People around here are very friendly and helpful. If you can find a 40g tall tank that would maybe be a good place to start.

Mike J.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0