Xenia, gsp, and Kenya tree doing poorly- what am I doing wrong?

ling313

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to saltwater. Mytank finished cycling about a month ago. I have 2 clowns about 1-1.5 inches long.
PH 8.2
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5
Salinity 1.026 (drifted up from 1.025 last week even with top offs)
Temp 79.3
7500k led lights blue and white
I do weekly water changes of 2 gal.
I was gifted 3 frags almost 2 was ago- a Pom Pom Xenia, a gsp, and a Kenya tree. The Xenia seemed to like the tank initially but the base broke free from the frag. I tried to glue it and it broke off again. I tried to rubber band it and it broke again so I put it in a cup with small rocks in hopes it would attach itself. That was a few days ago, and now it’s all dead except maybe 1 head.
The gsp opened a few days after I got it. Was looking good for about a week and now for the past few days it has been closed.
The Kenya tree never opened. The “fingers” retract when I move it around the tank but will go back to extended but never opens.
I dosed them with seachem reef complete, carbonate, and plus twice- 1 week ago and now. I didn’t do twice weekly because I don’t have the testing kits yet (stuck in mail) and didn’t want to overdose.
What can I do? I don’t want to lose my corals.

Biglew11

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are your phosphate levels, feeding habits. These soft corals like water with higher nutrition. Nitrates 3-10ppm is a good start. For phosphates if your feeding light should be about .03-.1ppm use a hanna ulr phosphate checker or there ulr phosphorous checker.

I dosed them with seachem reef complete, carbonate, and plus twice- 1 week ago and now.