The LFS redoux

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

uniquecorals

UniqueCorals
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I spend a lot of time talking with fellow "industry" people, and I hear a lot of the same things...

Online vendors moan about how Amazon and eBay are killing their sales, brick and mortar stores complain about how online stores are hurting them...urghh...It is frustrating sometimes. For some weird reason, the "business guy" in me wanted to come out to play today and throw out some ideas for the much beleaguered "LFS's" out there.

Aquarium Supplies 2.jpg

There is a better way..I think.

Now, don't get me wrong- I'm no expert on running a brick-and-mortar store (and it can be argued the same in the online arena, too..), but I do like to think and ponder and sometimes, I come up with ideas that, in talented hands (not mine) might just work. None of the stuff I'm talking about here hasn't been entertained by someone at one time or another...But no one has done it...yet. People are convinced that we can't because "it's not done that way."

Urrgh...Get that crap out of your head...NOW!

I read a lot in various business publications about how Amazon entered as a disruptive force back in the day and shook up the online market forever. It did. Recently, I read that Amazon has applied for a patent for a point of sale (point of sale) system...Well, point of sale systems are used in...brick-and-mortar stores! Could it be- the mighty Amazon has reached its asymptotic limit and is looking for more fertile fields? Could it be that I simply don't know what the ------- I'm talking about?

Yeah, more likely.

Anyhow, not knowing what I'm talking about has never kept me from talking about stuff...often to my own downfall. ;) Oh well, here's my idea for today.