Tips on lighting

Linknzelda1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to reefing and I’m struggling with exactly how to set up my lights. Some say 8 hours some say 10 but would it hurt to have it on for 12? And if so what kind of damage would it do? Also I have white, blue, and RGB mode what is recommended to have on at what times? Is there a light I can get to have it on at night so my family may enjoy the tank at all hours? Sorry for all the questions at once

Cichlid Dad

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
daffy-duck.gif

Welcome to the Reef!

Cichlid Dad

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to reefing and I’m struggling with exactly how to set up my lights. Some say 8 hours some say 10 but would it hurt to have it on for 12? And if so what kind of damage would it do? Also I have white, blue, and RGB mode what is recommended to have on at what times? Is there a light I can get to have it on at night so my family may enjoy the tank at all hours? Sorry for all the questions at once
It would help with more info. What lights are you running, do you have coral. How old and size of the tank. Did you start with dry rock. Upload a picture.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Welcome to the R2R ForumWhat type of lights are you running ?

OP
OP
Linknzelda1

Linknzelda1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It would help with more info. What lights are you running, do you have coral. How old and size of the tank. Did you start with dry rock. Upload a picture.
The lights are a

Aqueon® FXT Optibright Max LED Light​

And I do have corals, I started with live rock I’ll post a photo in the morning. Thank you all for the warm welcome!

Cichlid Dad

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The lights are a