2 Mp40s in a 40 breeder

N2theUnknown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So before I get hit with all the "that's overkill" comments let me say the only reason I'm doing this is because it was a steal. They are older sticker date is 2015 but I got both for $150.

Now like the title says this is a 40 breeder. Now I know flow has alot of factors based on rock work, types of corals etc. But I'm new to the Mp40s. What are some good modes? Opposite side walls or a side wall and back wall. I also have a mag drive 9.5 feeding the tank. And have special grade sand so it is heavier.

I've watched some videos but it's alittle overwhelming with the reef crest and lagoon and nutrients mode and sync and anti sync. So what are some good combos?

Philly Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I tried 1 MP40s on the other side of my return nozzle with VCA random flow on my 40B.
Even on 40% it was still overpowering the VCA.
Unfortunately, IMO if its 40% or lower, the reefcrest mode is useless. Seems to be like a steady lagoon mode.

Unless you are going full sps and no sands, I suggest try to sell those and get some MP10s

OP
OP
N

N2theUnknown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I tried 1 MP40s on the other side of my return nozzle with VCA random flow on my 40B.
Even on 40% it was still overpowering the VCA.
Unfortunately, IMO if its 40% or lower, the reefcrest mode is useless. Seems to be like a steady lagoon mode.

Unless you are going full sps and no sands, I suggest try to sell those and get some MP10s
So you think the modes won't work as well since I can't ramp them up?

Philly Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So you think the modes won't work as well since I can't ramp them up?
Yup. That's what I think. Now I didn't run that long. Only couple days, that was no corals too. But having to fill the sand back to the hole every day clearly showed its too strong.