2 Part and Kalk?

Kdoor

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm pretty new to dosing, I've been dosing Kalk in my ATO, my ALK keeps dropping pretty fast so I'm wanting to start using my DOS system for 2 part as well. I also wanted to see about getting my PH a bit higher as the ALK gets used up it fluctuates from 7.8 -> 7.6. Alk was swinging and from 7.4 dkH -> 6.7 over a couple of days.

So I was wondering can I run 2 part and Kalk or does 2 part do a pretty solid job of handling PH as well?

Some of the things I have that help PH a bit:
CO2 Scrubber
Large Reverse Cycle Refugium
Air Pump ( but it's close to the tank )

Oh also does anyone know if CO2 scrubber + outside air would help out more with PH? If so does anyone know of an air pump with an inlet? ( CO2 scrubber is hooked up to protein skimmer )

Thanks!

sawdonkey

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm pretty new to dosing, I've been dosing Kalk in my ATO, my ALK keeps dropping pretty fast so I'm wanting to start using my DOS system for 2 part as well. I also wanted to see about getting my PH a bit higher as the ALK gets used up it fluctuates from 7.8 -> 7.6. Alk was swinging and from 7.4 dkH -> 6.7 over a couple of days.

So I was wondering can I run 2 part and Kalk or does 2 part do a pretty solid job of handling PH as well?

Some of the things I have that help PH a bit:
CO2 Scrubber
Large Reverse Cycle Refugium
Air Pump ( but it's close to the tank )

Oh also does anyone know if CO2 scrubber + outside air would help out more with PH? If so does anyone know of an air pump with an inlet? ( CO2 scrubber is hooked up to protein skimmer )

Thanks!

What do you mean by “as my alk gets used up?” Aren’t you replacing it with the Kalk through your ATO? Are you fully saturating your Kalk solution? If not, just make it stronger. Plus, it will help your PH.