Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Update 8.25.19

IMG_3646.jpg

Hello Everyone!

I want to share my reef tank with the community. I took my own approach at my first reef tank after a lot of research. It's far from perfect and always a work in progress. Hopefully one day it will look like a "tank of the month" tank but in the mean time if people can learn from my setup and the mistakes, I'm glad I could pass on the knowledge.

To keep it short and sweet I built this tank with the idea of trying different equipment and setups to learn more of what works for me. Yes it's a small tank and much of the gear may seem overkill but I live in the city. I don't want to move a 150 gallon system when I buy a house. I intend to use the gear and knowledge to build a bigger and better reef tank when I move into a house of my own.

I work as a mechanical engineer in automated manufacturing so building things, testing, and tinkering is just another day in life. I think that's what really keeps me interested in this hobby.

So here is my tank setup during leak test (power strip location temporary for testing. Since been moved outside of stand and off ground level).
IMG_3032.jpg

How the rock work started
IMG_3088.jpg

How it currently sits today
IMG_3517.jpg

I've already experienced ups and downs on the system. I will elaborate on this in future posts. My goal for the time being is to maintain until fall (enjoy the summer golfing and biking) and then take on more coral and fish. Possibly some new gear once I outline a budget.

The tank has been setup for 5 months now.

Corals:
- Neon Tip Torch
- Bi-Color Hammer
- Gold Hammer
- Rainbow Sunset Acan
- Radioactive Dragoneye Zoa
- WWC Purple Monster Zoa
- Utter Chaos Zoa
- WWC Blue Polyp Pink Birdsnest
- Green Polyp Birdsnest
- WWC Mint Chip Plesiastrea
- Green Star Polyp

Fish:
-Purple Firefish

Last edited:
OP
OP
RudeReefNano20

RudeReefNano20

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%