253G Build - Remote Sump Feedback Needed.

Boostable

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
253G Build - It has begun!

Fairly new here (usually over on a couple of the other boards), but figured I would check it out over here, and the more input the better so...

With that said, I am in the planning phase of setting up our new tank next month and as part of the process I want to setup a remote sump in a back room that I will be building. I have never done a remote sump before, so I want to be as informed as possible. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Here are the details and an image that I hope helps.

Tank: 253G
Sump: 100~150G (to be determined based on space)
Distance: Approx. 63'
Rise/Fall: 5' at the tank side and 2' at the sump side.

I am leaning toward using a Reeflo Super Dart Gold for the primary pump (4300GPH at 0 head), figured I would end up with approx. 3200GPH to play with. I have used the Dart on my 210 and it performed very well.

Also, debating about running either 1.25 or 1.5 for the two primary drains. Any feedback one way or the other in regards to that? I will run two separate drains all the way back to the sump either way.

On the inlets I will run a single 1.5" all the way back and then split it up at the tank. Should I consider bigger here?

Plumbing%252520Diag.jpg

So, any feedback on plumbing size, and pump size or any other pointers would be appreciated.

Jack

Last edited:

swannyson7

Moderator/Acro Aficianado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd try punching the information into a head loss calculator if you haven't done so already. I'd think that with a 63' foot span you're going to lose much more flow than you are anticipating.

OP
OP
Boostable

Boostable

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the suggestion. I ran a couple of scenario's.

Pump: Sequence 4000