36G Bowfront Freshwater to Salt Conversion

whiskeyblaine

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Upfront and blunt, I am a complete newbie and am still in the beginning stages of research. I have had a 36G bow front freshwater tank for a few years, and now have the itch to go to a saltwater/reef aquarium. This thread will have a ton of Q&A, but let me start with something simple. I am thinking about going with the Maxspect RSX 100 for lighting. My 2 part question is: (1) Is this wattage enough to light the tank? And (2) since I want to use the included tank mounting legs, how wide do they extend? The OD of the tank is 30.375". If the legs don't extend far enough, I'll most likely upgrade to the 150 model.

I'm super excited to join this community! Again, still in the VERY Beginning stages of research and just want to make sure I hit the ground running.

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Per description they only go to 27 wide. What are your plans for the tank?

OP
OP
W

whiskeyblaine

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Per description they only go to 27 wide. What are your plans for the tank?
Well that's where I'm a little confused. From what I've read, it only states that it is "suited for 27 wide". With my tank being 31 wide, I don't plan on growing anything on either side past the 27 inch mark.

But you might be right, it might only extend out to 27 inches

Jekyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those are the legs that hold the fixture above the tank. The actual light would cover it depending on height placement(if you mcguyver the legs)

OP
OP
W

whiskeyblaine

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ahhhh, gotcha. So if I stick with the Maxspect lights I would need to get the 150. Do you have suggestions for another lighting system? I see the Kessil A80's get great reviews.

Jekyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0