A College Nano

WindyCityReefer.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone!

Long time lurker so I decided it was time to introduce myself as well as my nano. I am a graduate student at the University of Michigan but I am originally from Chicago (hence the username ;)). I was introduced to the hobby by my father at a young age - there were always aquariums around the house while growing up. So when I moved to Michigan for school I had a feeling that would not change! My only issue was finding something that would scratch my itch and not add additional stress to my school/study habits.

As you will see, my addiction and love for the hobby grew!

May 2017:
A1111423-0810-43BA-ACF4-4E53BDB031E6.jpeg

4DC205D5-6A79-45C3-B0DA-CDEF8941C112.jpeg

September 2018:
88E6F6C3-636A-40C9-8FD8-11629D6BAEFF.jpeg
181DBE2B-93CD-4B09-8D93-0EB693CF8A2F.jpeg
74E8CAF1-721E-49B1-9911-20009AAC3D65.jpeg
81787CD7-84A6-4F9C-84E0-75A267F0BA74.jpeg

The tank is 90% SPS and about 10% LPS/Zoas. The tank is fairly self-sustaining. Equipment list below:
  • Mightjet return pump
  • InTank media basket
  • GHL 2.1 doser
  • Nano heater with separate controller
  • IM ghost skimmer
  • Tunze nano ATO
You can see the tank has changed a lot over the course of a year. Looking at the photos myself, it is hard to believe what it used to look like. I can go more into detail about the system but for now I think people enjoy photos!

FFCAFE18-10E2-4A73-A6A0-903C475A5252.jpeg

3AABE255-DB9D-4989-840F-915B15A07048.jpeg

OP
OP
WindyCityReefer.

WindyCityReefer.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you everyone for the warm welcome! As well as the compliments on the tank :)

Here are a couple more photos of the tank. They are not in exact chronologic order, but I feel they give you the story behind the tank's growth.