Adding Figurines to a Tank

litsoh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been wanting to add a Gundam figure into my tank, is there anything that I need to do to make sure that it isn't adding any unwanted chemicals, etc into the water?

Gundam figure in question, all plastic and no metal parts so I don't think there should be any issues, but just in case, is there a dip that people use when placing plastic objects into a tank long term?

Wave Whisperer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been wanting to add a Gundam figure into my tank, is there anything that I need to do to make sure that it isn't adding any unwanted chemicals, etc into the water?

Gundam figure in question, all plastic and no metal parts so I don't think there should be any issues, but just in case, is there a dip that people use when placing plastic objects into a tank long term?
I have no prior experience in placing plastic figurines in reef tanks, however I do at times print my own 3d parts or item to be used in my system (frag racks, skimmer stands, etc.). So far I've tried PLA and PETG with no adverse effects within my aquarium. This topic however is still subjective and debatable as we are unsure if any of these plastics leech unwanted chemicals or substances over a prolonged period of immersion in a saltwater environment. However having done my prior research, and my own personal experience, these 2 materials so far had been going fine for me.

With that being said, for the kit in question, do you know the type of plastics used? I am however more concerned on the paints or glue used in assembling the model kit. It may or may not leech unwanted chemicals in the long term that may affect your inhabitants, especially if you have sensitive corals (i.e acros) that are quite finicky with water quality.