Advice on maintaining cycle w/o fish

navada718

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Whats up people, So I added Algaebarn fritz turbostart & nitrocycle to my DT & QT(aio 50 gal & Lagoon & 20 gal Qt) on 11/11/20 & both tanks were full cycled by 11/17/20, with all parameters reading 0ppm.
I didn't add any fish to either tanks as of yet. On the 11/23/20 I noticed the QT Nitrite increase to 0.25 ppm.
Being a newbie, I didn't think to add a Amonia source to the tanks to keep the cycle going. I added a very small dosage of AlgaeBarn NitroCycle to both the DT & The Qt tank. Without knowing for sure it's a Amonia source. As of today the DT has Ammonia at 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0.50ppm
Nitrate at 0.
As for the QT,
ammonia is at 0.25,
Nitrite: 0.50ppm
Nitrate is 0.
Recommendation on what I should do to get the parameters back to 0, specifically the QT so I can get fish.
Should I get some BIO-Spira by instant ocean? Get Dr. Tims ammonia, because I don't know if AlgaeBarn NitroCycle can be used as a Amonia source, if it is, I still have some left & can use.
Do a water change?
Wait for nature to take its course?
Or any other products or recommendations I haven't listed.

FB_IMG_1606065981766.jpg 16063258907222481555693568275578.jpg

Reef.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Saying you were fully cycled in a week because all parameters were 0 is wrong, if cycled you should have nitrate in the tank.

If my tank I would check ammonia, if low get it to at least 2ppm with Dr Tim’s ammonia, add friz again and start taking regular readings, you want to see your ammonia come down, your nitrite will go up, after the peak and it will start to drop, wait till it is at 0, when your nitrite is 0 check your nitrate level, it should be quite high, with ammonia at 0 and nitrite also at 0, then you should be cycled, to check, add ammonia to 2ppm again and see if it is 0 after 24 hours, if yes you can then do a big water change to get rid of the nitrate.