AI Nero 5 - The Little Pump That Could

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So today I got in a pair of AI Nero 5 pumps. I got them from my good friend @Reef-Tank
Figured I'd give them a try as I was looking for something different from my ice cap gyres. Don't get me wrong, they work great and I love them, but I was looking for something different. Plus I'm a tech junkie and am always looking to try new things. I used to have a pair of Vortech MP10's and I missed them. I couldn't shell out for a pair of MP40's so these were the next best thing.
These pumps are rated at 3,000 gallons per hour each, and after I took them out of the box I thought to my self "yeah right, there's no way. Maybe together they'd reach 3k"
But I installed them, hooked them all up, and since I have the hydra 26HD's the Nero is ran off the same app which is really nice, and do they push water! I was blown away at how much a little pump could move! Linking them to the app was a breeze. You can go in and set schedules, see what gallons per hour each pump is currently running at, feed mode, set the pumps at full power for a set amount of time, which after they'll go back to their schedule, run a child and parent setup so one mimics the other or does the opposite of the other.
These little guys are amazing. If you've considered trying them i'd highly recommend them :)

Lizbeli

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I love mine too. I was hesitant because I always used mp10s in my other tanks. So far I am impressed, and they have been running for about 6mths. They are very quiet too. I was worried about the look of the wires but honestly you hardly notice them.

AZMSGT

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was looking at them for a directional pump, but they scare me with all the reports of fish getting stuck or sucked through the back. Did you get the new cage with yours?

OP
OP
Crabs McJones

Crabs McJones