Algae ID

OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
I've been told a strain of Dino's, strain of cyano and then someone else said calothrix
 

ReefinItReal88

Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
72
Reaction score
36
I've been told a strain of Dino's, strain of cyano and then someone else said calothrix
It's dinoflagellates. It's a protozoa. Remove excess silicates by running carbon and do a water change. I would also recommend doing a blackout for a day or two.
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
It's dinoflagellates. It's a protozoa. Remove excess silicates by running carbon and do a water change. I would also recommend doing a blackout for a day or two.

I always thought you didn't want to do water changes if it was dinos? or is that only a specific species?
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Hopefully those pictures worked

20190709_200621.jpg


20190709_200734.jpg


20190709_200628.jpg
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
well poop... does the pictures show a specific kind so I can research what to kill it? or will the above advice work on this kind?
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
well that one went right over my head lol... I thought it was just a typo ;Woot
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
so how do I fight this crap
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Ya the bright brown round things move around
 

taricha

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
1,328
Reaction score
1,588
Hopefully those pictures worked
The orange/brown cell in the middle of the second pic is the only thing that's clearly dino.
Most of the material - at least in those samples- is cyano. (Calothrix is a kind of cyano but it has filaments with a fat end and skinny end.) These are uniform.
Basically, it looks like your issue is cyano.
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Water changes, lights out for a few days and run GFO?
 

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
1,534
Reaction score
1,972
Location
Northern KY
Water changes, lights out for a few days and run GFO?
I would suck it out with an airline hose during water changes. You can read up on it, but it will hopefully go away after a while. I would not run gfo unless you are very experienced and testing phosphates frequently. If you strip your tank of phosphates using gfo, then then your dinos could take over and then you’d have a bad problem. I’ve been there :(
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Its been here for about 4 months. I try and siphon as much as I can during a water change but the stuff on the rock doesn't really let go... have to scrub it with a brush.
 

AZG

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
91
Reaction score
73
Location
Boston, MA
It’s a pain to fight. Scrub and siphon as much as possible. A uv didn’t help in my experience. Manual removal and raising nutrients did the trick. They ended up bottoming out a couple months later and it was back. Repeated above and it was all good. So I’d say just try to get as much out as possible. Keep no3 around 2-5ppm, po4 detectable, and some more pods and clean up crew. Let the tank do it’s thing and stabilize. I kept my nutrients on the lower side cause my tank was still pretty young. Or peroxide never tried it though.
 
OP
joe0813

joe0813

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
ok so now im confused here. Im watching FishofHex on youtube about nitrate and phosphate dosing. He said if you have algae in your tank "DONT DOSE!" I need to check my phosphate and nitrate levels but im guessing they are going to read zero from the Cyano?
 
Last edited:

dwest

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
1,534
Reaction score
1,972
Location
Northern KY
ok so now im confused here. Im watching FishofHex on youtube about nitrate and phosphate dosing. He said if you have algae in your tank "DONT DOSE!" I need to check my phosphate and nitrate levels but im guessing they are going to read zero from the Cyano?
You are going to get lots of conflicting advice for sure. Cyano is tough to eliminate. I do think it’s good to check your nitrate and phosphate levels. I would also beef up your CUC some and possibly increase flow in your tank. Manually removal is also a good thing. How old is your tank?
 
Top