Alk and calcium manual dosing

Jsm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
I'm quite new to this hobby and dosing so please bear with me if the answers to my questions are too obvious. I have a red sea 250, with mostly sps frags. I'm facing a drop in alk of around 1.5 dkh per week, and 30-40 ppm of calcium in same period (if my testing with hanna is correct). My alk is normally stable at 8 dkh and i would like to have my calcium at around 440 ppm. I have used around 35 ml red sea alk/kh liquid per week, mixing it into ATO (weekly evaporation is around 17 liters). My question is how to dose my red sea calcium liquid, according to my numbers i should compensate my weekly loss by around 35-45 ml. As i understand i should avoid dosing at the same time, but can i dose calcium directly into display or sump, like 2,5 ml morning and evening? Thanks for help,

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Calcium dosing times and locations are not very important. Just add it in a way that it mixes in before getting to delicate organisms. The sump is fine and once a day is plenty at the dose you are needing.

Mark Bradley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the Redsea doser for the KH and calcium - spreads the dosing slowly over the day. Check during the week for any change in amounts but generally very stable.

Simon_M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Using the Red Sea Doser is ideal for introducing Supplements. The Foundation A, B and C should really have been called C, B and A for the Magnesium, Alkaline and Calcium. Dosing Supplements would then have been as simple as ABC... and not in the order CBA.