Ammonia at 5 in QT. Please help.

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Hi, I set up a 30 gallon quarantine tank and had multiple fish survive but also die in it. I realized that my ammonia levels are pretty high so I did 50% water changes, replaced a hanging filter, and even put in a protein skimmer just in case. I removed any floating food and would have thought it would cure the issue. But the ammonia is still high. I also added API quick start, all while I wait for sponges to soak for a few weeks in my main tank so I can add them later.

Any idea on what could be causing ammonia levels to be high and what I can do to fix it? Greatly appreciate your input.
 
Corals.com

Spare time

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
4,809
Reaction score
2,983
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Add the whole bottle of quick start, and put sponges in immediately for there to be surface area for the bacteria to live on. Prime or similar products can be used for ammonia emergencies.

Was the QT cycled? If not, then that is the issue.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
48,561
Reaction score
110,206
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida in several months
Before you react or add something. . . You may be getting false reading especially if using an API test kit. Also if you are testing right after a water change or adding bacteria - you may be getting false readings.
 

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
6,042
Reaction score
9,801
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
Hi, I set up a 30 gallon quarantine tank and had multiple fish survive but also die in it. I realized that my ammonia levels are pretty high so I did 50% water changes, replaced a hanging filter, and even put in a protein skimmer just in case. I removed any floating food and would have thought it would cure the issue. But the ammonia is still high. I also added API quick start, all while I wait for sponges to soak for a few weeks in my main tank so I can add them later.

Any idea on what could be causing ammonia levels to be high and what I can do to fix it? Greatly appreciate your input.
Anything added to cycle the tank or provide a source of bacteria? Another large water change and some fritz.
 

Tbg299

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
139
Reaction score
59
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
US
Hi, I set up a 30 gallon quarantine tank and had multiple fish survive but also die in it. I realized that my ammonia levels are pretty high so I did 50% water changes, replaced a hanging filter, and even put in a protein skimmer just in case. I removed any floating food and would have thought it would cure the issue. But the ammonia is still high. I also added API quick start, all while I wait for sponges to soak for a few weeks in my main tank so I can add them later.

Any idea on what could be causing ammonia levels to be high and what I can do to fix it? Greatly appreciate your inpuyou have a Seachem ammonia alert badge or are you using a TAN ammonia test kit? What is your pH? First thing I would do would be to add a a bottle of Seachem Prime to detoxify the ammonia.
Do you have a Seachem ammonia alert badge? This will indicate the true amount of NH3 ( toxic ammonia). I would buy a bottle of Seachem Prime to detoxify the ammonia.
 
Avast
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Add the whole bottle of quick start, and put sponges in immediately for there to be surface area for the bacteria to live on. Prime or similar products can be used for ammonia emergencies.

Was the QT cycled? If not, then that is the issue.
It's been running for about a month with basically the same readings. Thank you for the suggestion.
 
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Do you have a Seachem ammonia alert badge? This will indicate the true amount of NH3 ( toxic ammonia). I would buy a bottle of Seachem Prime to detoxify the ammonia.
I used two separate API kits and my alert badge shows a bit better result 0.25, but the colors seem to blend a bit so it may be higher.
 
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Anything added to cycle the tank or provide a source of bacteria? Another large water change and some fritz.
I've been keeping two sponges in my DT for about two weeks, heard you need to do that for about three weeks before moving to QT.
 
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
So it's constantly 5? In that case, I would maybe consider another test kit. Have you checked to see if there is any nitrite?
Using API strips, API ammonia test kit and NYOS. Same result more or less. Waiting to receive Seachem Prime. Will let you know what happens.
 
Corals.com
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
This thread is very odd. Can you show us a pic of your DT? It’s like a spoof thread.
That's an odd thing to say, but I'll humor you. Here's the tank. I do agree the issue is odd, I never would believe I would have a problem with QT of all things.
 

Attachments

  • 20210804_205256.jpg
    20210804_205256.jpg
    127.8 KB · Views: 34
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
That's an odd thing to say, but I'll humor you. Here's the tank. I do agree the issue is odd, I never would believe I would have a problem with QT of all things.
More pics.
 

Attachments

  • 20210804_210017.jpg
    20210804_210017.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 32
  • 20210804_210009.jpg
    20210804_210009.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 32

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2021
Messages
6,252
Reaction score
31,319
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Southern California
That's an odd thing to say, but I'll humor you. Here's the tank. I do agree the issue is odd, I never would believe I would have a problem with QT of all things.
Buddy you need to look up the specs on that skimmer. They need to be run at a certain height of water. Six and nine inches. You have yours mostly submerged. It's not really able to do much there if anything.

Look up the specs and if you want to keep it in which I don't see a big purpose for, use something like a PVC rack to elevate it to the correct water level.
 
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Buddy you need to look up the specs on that skimmer. They need to be run at a certain height of water. Six and nine inches. You have yours mostly submerged. It's not really able to do much there if anything.

Look up the specs and if you want to keep it in which I don't see a big purpose for, use something like a PVC rack to elevate it to the correct water level.
Thank you, I will take a look. It's collecting brown stuff like crazy though.
 
OP
J

Jamon

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Did you register nitrite at all?
I am just lost at this point. I did a 50% water change, threw in API Ammo Lock, bought yet another Master Test Kit and my results still look off the charts. Should I just start from scratch, empty the whole QT and put in new salt water? My high PH result was appx. 7.8, Ammonia appx..0.75, nitrate around 60 and nitrite around 1-2, difficult to match colors exactly.
 

Tbg299

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
139
Reaction score
59
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
US
I am just lost at this point. I did a 50% water change, threw in API Ammo Lock, bought yet another Master Test Kit and my results still look off the charts. Should I just start from scratch, empty the whole QT and put in new salt water? My high PH result was appx. 7.8, Ammonia appx..0.75, nitrate around 60 and nitrite around 1-2, difficult to match colors exactly.
No. Do not empty it. Your fish will die from shock. Do a 10% water change everyday until it is populated with enough nitrifying bacteria.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
QT FISH
Top