Ammonia/ nitrate

BRS

Codemasterflex1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
64
Reaction score
38
So I’m cycling a new tank. My ammonia is .25 ppm my nitrites is 0ppm and my nitrate is either 80 or 160 ppm (kinda hard to read the color a little). I’m just wondering what I should do because my ammonia hasn’t hit zero but my nitrites have. I’m a little confused about it.
 
Maxout

TuxUrchin07

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
278
Reaction score
370
Location
Vancouver, Bc
So I’m cycling a new tank. My ammonia is .25 ppm my nitrites is 0ppm and my nitrate is either 80 or 160 ppm (kinda hard to read the color a little). I’m just wondering what I should do because my ammonia hasn’t hit zero but my nitrites have. I’m a little confused about it.
Keep cycling. Or if u r using API test kits maybe buy something else. API is not very accurate
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
19,294
Reaction score
15,911
Location
tejas
left out critical details in this new post, your cycle is done
 
Last edited:

Cheeze

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
87
Reaction score
89
Location
New York
How long since the tank went wet, and what method are you using to cycle (chemical, ghost feeding, etc.?) A cycle can take any where from weeks to a couple of months (at least!) before Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates settle to a post-cycled stage.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
19,294
Reaction score
15,911
Location
tejas
its been over a month, on bottle bac

he's all set and complete


Codemaster
google: api false ammonia read

look at what numbers comes up as the false read
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
View Shop
Joined
Feb 26, 2021
Messages
2,031
Reaction score
1,893
Location
Chicago
So I’m cycling a new tank. My ammonia is .25 ppm my nitrites is 0ppm and my nitrate is either 80 or 160 ppm (kinda hard to read the color a little). I’m just wondering what I should do because my ammonia hasn’t hit zero but my nitrites have. I’m a little confused about it.
Ammonia does tend to read as 0.25ppm with the ammonia test kit even though it's zero, or at least close enough to zero. So yeah treat it as 0, essentially.
 
OP
Codemasterflex1

Codemasterflex1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
64
Reaction score
38
I would def believe it’s the API test because last time I cycled my tank with live rock and etc. everything was reading normal just like now but the ammonia and it was the same thing at .25 ppm for maybe a week or two.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
19,294
Reaction score
15,911
Location
tejas
needs TAN conversion

after TAN its .025 which is safe

I didnt even know about TAN conversions till Dan explained it yep just passing on the info.
 
Last edited:
OP
Codemasterflex1

Codemasterflex1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
64
Reaction score
38
you left out critical details in this new post, your cycle is done. even if a third thread is made, your cycle is done for the reasons linked to you in that one. its proof done/finished, no other links were provided showing it was not complete.
I didn’t mean to make another thread. I just wasn’t able to test my tank till today and I had some general question about the bottled bacteria. My apologies
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Codemasterflex1

Codemasterflex1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
64
Reaction score
38
Coral I’ll def wait on till I get my parameters more stable. I just wanted to do a water change to add my two clownfish back into the tank. What should my nitrates read after the water change?
 

TuxUrchin07

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
278
Reaction score
370
Location
Vancouver, Bc
Coral I’ll def wait on till I get my parameters more stable. I just wanted to do a water change to add my two clownfish back into the tank. What should my nitrates read after the water change?
10 ish is ideal but I actually made a really bad mistake of getting a Hanna ultra low range nitrate checker and I didn’t know it could only measure until 5 so my nitrate went up to 100. Weird thing is all my corals and fish did fine… so I couldn’t tell. But still definitely don’t put fish in at over 20 nitrate
 

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5,352
Reaction score
8,877
Location
Michigan
Nitrate won't harm fish. I had mine over 200 for a while. Just best to get your levels in order before there's things living that you have to account for. Coral I would wait a couple months after fish.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

ying yang

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
1,204
Reaction score
1,768
Location
Liverpool
I still dont get this api mainly always gives 0.25 amnonia reading.
0= milky yellow as it saltwater.
0.25= lime green.
I keep reading it all time but just dont get why always 0.25 amnonia?
Is it because 0= milky yellow and think it sort of going to lime or what ?
Serious question
 

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5,352
Reaction score
8,877
Location
Michigan
I still dont get this api mainly always gives 0.25 amnonia reading.
0= milky yellow as it saltwater.
0.25= lime green.
I keep reading it all time but just dont get why always 0.25 amnonia?
Is it because 0= milky yellow and think it sort of going to lime or what ?
Serious question
Everyone has the same issues with API. It's why they're so much cheaper than other test brands.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
BRS

Have you ever had a reef tank with no sump and how did it go?

  • YES and it was just fine

    Votes: 296 58.3%
  • YES but it was difficult

    Votes: 97 19.1%
  • NO

    Votes: 104 20.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 11 2.2%
Chemi-pure.com - All-In-One Aquarium Filtration
Top