Another DIY 40b sump post

SallyWho

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
*Deep breath* Okay, bear with me here- I'm a newbie with a lot of questions! I'm slowly putting together a 120g build and I did a search for 40b sump plans and got a lot of ideas. I measured the stuff I have, and I *think* I've figured out something that might work, with some clarifications from the pros. I want to do a three chambered design: a drain/skimmer section, a refugium, and a return section. First off, how close can the skimmer be to the filter socks? Does it even matter so long as you have room to switch out the socks and empty the skimmer cup? How deep should I make the return section? And my heater is an Eheim Jager 250W, which is longer than a week of Mondays- 23" I think. How in god's green earth is that going to fit? If I need shorter heaters to fit in my sump, what do you recommend?