Any recommendations for a Nikon D5300 owner?

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hell R2R community,
I have a couple of pico and a nano tank. I have been using my D5300 for some of the FTS, but mostly iPhone. I use an iphone specific macro lens, and I have been happy with it. The images are not very crisp or sharp, but it has been a good value for the money (alongside the 4$ Camera+ iPhone app).

I am still new to photography, and took some time to teach the basics. I am hoping to use my d5300 for macro. Any suggestion?

Following is my tentative list:
- Must have: Tube (kenko or other cheap tubes)
- Should have: Filters? CPL to help with reflection? .. or not needed?
- Must have, but later: A macro lens, either Nikon 85 or Tamron 90 .. prohibitively expensive :0(

any suggestion or specific vendors/brands you'll recommend? Experience? or some of this is not needed, and I should just get a cheaper macro. My initial readings led me to think I should get a extension tube first, they are cheap and effective. I threw in the CPL filter without any evidence, but with an assumption that it will help to fix reflection issue. My biocube has curved surface and there are three tanks located together.
Also, any cheaper and relatively OK macro lens options?
My tanks are small so, I don't need images of corals that are further than 1-1.5 feet. My picos let me take shots very close , which is why the iphone + macro lense has been good for pico, and unusable for biocube (especially the corals in the center, top etc).
Thanks in advance

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welll......
There are some better lenses for the iPhone. Tough to figure out what the best one is. Mine was $9 and also sells for $40.
Try cleaning the lenses first. Bad plastic is just like dirt.