Apex Help - A3 Malfunctioning in a major way

astreck827

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
TLDR - my apex isn't responding to anything and even doing a factory reset doesn't wipe it and allow me to start over.

I started having some trouble with my Apex A3 unit over the last few weeks and today it culminated into a near melt-down. I have a ticket in to the Neptune team but haven't heard anything, and before I tear this thing out and replace it with a million Kasa plugs, I wanted to see if anyone here has some insight.

Background: I have been running an Apex A3 "standard" unit for the last ~14 months. No issues with it at all until a few weeks ago. I noticed that the numbers for my temp and pH probes weren't making a graph anymore, although they were still reading correctly. Then, I started to see some cycling of one of my EB8s, where every 30-60 minutes it would power down, and then power back up. I tried updating my AOS, but every time I did, it would never "stick." It still said I was in the A23 (trying to update to F23). Fast forward to today, and half of my system is off. I am running 4 EB8s, 1 EB328, and multiple PM1s and PM2s. I have a sprawled out system over about 10 or so tanks. Now I cannot control ANY of the EBs. Some are stuck in the "on" position, and some in the "off" position, regardless of what it says they are in the app. All of the advanced programming for every single outlet is wiped clean. If I try to modify the outlet, I can change it, upload the change, and then go back and its back to just "advanced" with a blank code section. It says 3/5 EBs are missing or disconnected, but they all act the same. None of my float sensors or toggle switches work to do that they are supposed to do (I use lots of physical toggle switches to give me a way to quickly control things when I'm messing with the tanks). Oddly the only thing that seems to be working somewhat correctly is it is still displaying correct (from what I can see) data from my