Aqualink S1 controller for Jebao wave pumps

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by armetas, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I know that most of the forum does not like Jebao production, but recently I purchased Aqualink S1 controller for my Jebao RW pumps and I could share my toughs about it if you are interested :) Let me know if I can proceed :)
     
    Tags:

  2. edosan

    edosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Chile
    Aqualink is not Jebao, is Coral-box so go ahead ;)
     
  3. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    So finally I‘ve received new Aqualink S1 controller for Jebao pumps. I‘ve RW-15 so they will be used for them. It always was my dream to control everything through mobile phone or tablet. Now it became a reality.

    First of all package that I’ve received – it looked like really good (not cheap) controller:

    [​IMG]

    Controller is quite small, a bit bigger than original one, but it has 2 mounting options:

    • Hang on
    • By sticky connectors
    [​IMG]

    Ok, let’s get to the real stuff now:

    Connection:

    It is so easy to connect, you just plug your pump with new controller and that’s it – it is working.

    Next what you need to do is connect to Aqualink Wireless connection and go to mobile app – AQUALINK.

    That’s it – all your pumps are shown there, and you can begin with controlling them J Maybe it is too easy? J But I like what they did.



    Control:

    This controller has more options of the flow. It has 6 predefined flow options:

    1. Normal mode (constant power)
    2. Pulse mode (Wave flow)
    3. Reef Mode (random constant flow) – it is good for making storms in aquarium
    4. Natural mode – pretty similar to Reef Mode but is it more gentle
    5. Mix mode – it is random flows (like all the options combined to one) – suits for storms in aquarium
    6. Gyre mode – this is quite interesting as it has intervals of flow power:
      • 1st 15 minutes
      • 2nd 15 minutes
      • 3rd 15 minutes
      • 4th 15 minutes
    So the flow changes every 15 minutes as you specify.



    All possible predefined flows:

    [​IMG]

    The one that I’m using currently is Pulse mode. Worth to mention with this controller you have the ability to precisely control On/Off time (precision is 0.1 sec). And what is important you can go below to 0.1 sec pulsing. It is really amazing J For my reef I use 0.6 sec intervals and I’m satisfied with it.



    App manual control looks like that:

    [​IMG]

    Sound:

    I don’t know what they did but with this controller my pumps from noisy became quite silent. Sound of the pump is almost not hearable even at full speed of the pump. That is really amazing.

    Nigh Mode:

    Now you can set night mode when you want – no more light sensor (which was really a not usable). Now it is enough to set Time when night starts and time when the night ends + flow percentage. That’s it. And flow is reduced step by step, not right away – less stress for fishes and corals.



    Schedule:

    It is my favorite part here J

    With this feature you can make a plan for 24 hours how pumps should work, each hour/minute can have different type of the flow and different strength of the flow.

    For example:

    • From 10 pm to 8 am have calm flow
    • From 8 am to 1 pm have waves
    • From 1 pm to 2 pm have storm
    • From 2 pm to 10 pm have waves again
    So basically you can have what you want J

    And great thing is that once you make it for one pump you can copy the same schedule to another pump J



    App screen for schedule looks like that:

    [​IMG]

    Synchronization:

    Finally – synchronization works. With standard RW controllers it was quite hard to synchronize the flow of few pumps. Now it seems that they are working in sync.


    Conclusion:

    Advantages:

    • Good build quality
    • Less sound from pumps using this controller
    • More options (fully customizable flow)
    • Enhanced night mode
    • Synchronization works fine
    • Easy connection
    • Scheduled feeding mode
    Disadvantages:

    • Quite high price for 1 controller
     
    TangoTan16 and aaron23 like this.
  4. edosan

    edosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Chile
    Looks good! Thanks for sharing
    Already waiting for it.
    Do you have a clue when C-B will launch the T1 controller?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2016
  5. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    On the start of the march:)
     
  6. FarmerTy

    FarmerTy Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084
    Likes Received:
    9,710
    Location:
    Austin
    So on the schedule mode, can you tell it specific variables, such as pulse 7 seconds on, 3 seconds off, at 70%?
     
  7. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    On schedule mode you can specify time, mode and power. Pulse cannot be customized yet.
     
    scott cheek and FarmerTy like this.
  8. Sabellafella

    Sabellafella Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    8,406
    Oh wow this is sweet
     
  9. FarmerTy

    FarmerTy Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084
    Likes Received:
    9,710
    Location:
    Austin
    Thanks Armetas. So to clarify, you can only adjust which preset mode it uses, how much power you want it to use, and duration of time. But you can't program it like my Apex would, where you can tell it to turn on at 100% power for 7 secs, then down to 30% for 3 secs?
     
  10. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Yes, but I've made a request to improve app by adding such feature:) I believe they will do that:)
     
    Frank_PR and FarmerTy like this.
  11. edosan

    edosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Chile
    you know how many RW pumps you can connect to one S1 Contoller? 3 master and N slaves?

    Physically you can connect 1 master, and via wifi 3 master? (4 in total?) or just 1 master and the rest slaves?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  12. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Physically you can connect one pump to 1 S1 controller. Each pump must be connected to S1 controller in order to control them. Once they are connected you can control up to 3 pumps.
     
  13. edosan

    edosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Chile
    Guess I will figure it out this week when my controller arrives but don´t get it just yet. In the mean time I still have some doubts.

    Physically you can conect 1 pump to s1 controller...ok perfect.
    On the other hand, you have 3 rw wm on 1 tank (for example).
    Let´s forget about the S1 for a second, in normal config I can setup 1 wm as Master and the other 2 as slave (or more, I have try 1 master and 5 slaves with no problems with standard controller).
    So If I conect the S1 to the master, the other 2 ... n, will remain as slave with no problem?
    And what you are saying is that for every Master WM you need a S1 controller and with the App you can control 3 different Master WM conected to S1 controller each. or not?

    Or

    Is exacly as you say, every pump needs the s1 controller? without S1 controller is not possible to master or slave control a wavemaker? so if you have 4 RW -15 in 1 tank, you need to get 4 S1 controllers? and you can control only max 3 pumps...is that right? So basically the S1 controller is an individual controller for each pump? that replace the estandar one?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  14. Robx

    Robx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, just picked up the s1 and I think it's awesome. Love the ability to set precise schedules.

    I do have a couple questions though. I'm currently using mine with a reef angel controller. When I set my tank to feed mode it will shut off the jebao (cut AC power). When the power returns the pump connected to the s1 seems to go into a low flow mode and does not resume the schedule - have you noticed this?

    I've also noticed that the pump will occasionally just shut off and will not resume schedule until I set a manual mode and then re-update the schedule mode. I haven't been able to figure out what causes this yet.
     
  15. aaron23

    aaron23 Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    769
    Location:
    New York NY
    great post very good review
     
  16. MPSchenck

    MPSchenck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    SE TN US
    Hello,

    I currently have an RW-4 and would like to add this controller and another RW-4 to my JBJ 30g rimless.
    Can you elaborate on this please? I don't really understand how the multiple connections are made.
     
  17. armetas

    armetas Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Math is simple, if you have 2 pumps - you need 2 controllers S1. Each can control only 1 pump (same as standalone controller). When 2 pumps are connected to two S1 controllers - you are connecting though Wifi to both of them. App supports up to 3 pumps connected to one Wifi network. Hope that this is a bit clearer
     
  18. edosan

    edosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Chile
    Crystal Clear! thanks!
     
  19. MPSchenck

    MPSchenck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    SE TN US
    Ah, that's the bit I was missing. Yes, thank you.
     
  20. Tim Esquilin

    Tim Esquilin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I control 4 different pumps on 2 different tanks??? I have 2 RW15's on my 180 and I have 2 RW8's on my 75 gallon which are now being controlled by 2 AquaLink S1's. How do I control the RW15's on my 180 gallon with 2 additional AquaLink S1's??? SEPARATELY??? From the 75 gallon???
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...