ATO sump levels

jdivz87

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wassup guys! So I’m planning on starting my ATO with reservoir.
I watched a video and maybe I’m thinking too much into it but they mentioned that the reservoir has to sit lower than the sump so that there is no back siphon.
Im attaching the return pump in reservoir and obviously into the sump return section .

sump is on floor, I can’t go lower than that lol.

am I missing something?

V A R I A N T

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As long as you have a siphon break installed in the correct spot you should be fine.

98B1EAB9-368C-4A8B-961D-C9A2CCDC7709.png

Kraig

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an expert so this is just how I have mine set up. My reservoir sits next to the sump. I have the tubing from the ATO pump in reservoir run up and over one of my return pipes so it is elevated, and then down into the return chamber of my sump, but above the water level so there is no chance what so ever of a back syphon.

OP
OP
jdivz87

jdivz87

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an expert so this is just how I have mine set up. My reservoir sits next to the sump. I have the tubing from the ATO pump in reservoir run up and over one of my return pipes so it is elevated, and then down into the return chamber of my sump, but above the water level so there is no chance what so ever of a back syphon.
Okay okay any pics?

Steve2020

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As Kstatefan said "the output must be higher then the water level in the ATO reservoir". I use booster pumps for my ATO and AWC and was worried that the syphon breaks would leak or blow off so I went with the tube within a tube method which is 100% fool proof. Just ensure the water supply tube feeding the tube going to your sump is higher than the water level in your sump.
20221024_090612.jpg 20221024_090652.jpg 20221024_090659.jpg

peterhos

View Badges
Reaction score