bare bottom tank with no live rock

Savanna’sReefAndFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi folks,

I'm not new to keeping tanks but im new to this idea im going to present and need to bounce ideas off people.

Im coming up to my senior year of undergrad and will be conducting an independent research project. I plan to test heat tolerance in difference species of zooxanthellae. The methods of my experiment is not necessarily important - more so of how I plan to set up my tanks. My advisor has explained that in research you set up tanks in a way to eliminate all "distractions" to get the best results for the experiment. In this case, this means setting up the tanks bare bottom with no live rock. I have never done this before and im nervous the tank wont cycle correctly and the whole thing will get messed up.

The tanks will be 5g with bare bottom, a stand to place the coral, a pump and a hang on the back filter. I plan to put carbon pads, regular filter floss pads and a little bag of bio balls in the HOB. Will this be sufficient enough for bacteria to be established? I plan to use nite-out II to cycle the tank. I plan to use some species of acropora. Will it be ok to put the coral in just days after it is cycled? Im relatively time restrained for this experiment so I will need to put the coral in the tank ASAP. I used nite-out II for the first time on my 15g invert tank and it was cycled in a matter of days - which is exactly what I need for this experiment.