BB did not keep me... balanced

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

JM302

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Decided to try carbon dosing. Unexpected result with Bacto balance.

My tank has been stable for a long time - no3 always between 8 and 11, po4 always between .05 and .07. (tested weekly) 170 Gallon Display - 60 Gallon sump - about 170 gallons of actual volume after displacement. Tank was upgraded about 7 months ago but absorbed a 3 year old 75 Gallon. I've been maintaining these values for a good 2+ years.

Started to dose 1ml of BB on Friday. Today was day 3 of 1ml. Decided to test today. The tank has been stripped of n03 entirely and po4 dropped from .07 to .05. I also bought Plus NP just in case this happened although I was hoping it would not.

I'm looking for someone to give me their best idea on how to react. Been reefing for 20+ years and have never carbon dosed before 3 days ago. Was just hoping for a little better PE out of my SPS.. :smiling-face-with-halo:

My options as I see it are:

- Stop BB, dose 6ml of plus NP for a few days - test and try again
- Continue BB - do nothing - test in a few days (I understand my sample time is small, but the -10ppm n03 was shocking)
- Continue BB and dose Neonitro (which is already on a dosing pump and ready at my disposal)

Open to any other option as well. I would appreciate any advice on the best path forward with the ultimate goal of continuing BB long term.

Cantusaurus

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Before carbon dosing you always need to test the parameters and consistently test to keep close track. Also is the doser dosing it correctly? I also wouldn't see the need to carbon dose if the nutrients are "always" around the same level.
I personally like carbon dosing. I don't do it on every tank/situation. But it can definitely be useful as long as you start slow and test frequently when starting it, and then routinely as you go.