• USA orbit marine lighting

• Go with T5

Results are only viewable after voting.

Tylerethridge11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll gladly admit that I am brand new to reefing. In fact, I've never owned any kind of fish tank (not even a bowel with beta fish!). But I've been spending hours and hours researching for my first setup. Any opinions would be great... For the tank I'm pretty set on an IM nuvo 40. I'm a woodworker as well so I will def be making a custom stand. For the lighting I'm still debating between an AI prime HD or a Kessil a160. I'd pick the kessil but price wise I could save some $$ with the AI. Is there anything else I should be looking at getting for the Nuvo 40 to help it out, extra powerhead, skimmer, etc? I'm also looking at getting the Nuvo 40 starter kit from BRS.

Thanks!
-Ty

Oscar47f

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You should checkout "CJ's aquariums" on youtube he had a 40 nuvo that was well set up and you might get some ideas for your tank based on his filtrations setup. If i were running an all in one i would definitely use the Prime mainly because i like that i can control all the color channels which can be a good and bad thing. Im not a fan of kessils mainly because of the lack of controllability but they are great lights and many people have had success with both. And definitely get an a power head of some sort..

Chrisfish

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R first of all:)