Beginner Reefer - 125 Gal tank Rock insight - scroll to "SUGGESTIONS MOVING FORWARD" if you dont want backstory

typh10sion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So as mentioned, I'm new to reefing and the saltwater aquarium community. I am learning as I go and made a painful mistake I'm looking to rectify as safely as possible.

BACKGROUND:
Tank was bought used in August while still running as a functioning aquarium, previous owner had up and running since 2017 but did not do water change for last year. Took tank down and kept the 80lbs of live rock soaking, fish in bucket with bubbler (2 clowns and brittle sea star), saltwater stored in 55g drums. Got it home cleaned out tank with scraper and removed sand bed. Replaced sand bed with 80lbs of live sand and added everything back in, went through mini cycle, had high nitrate and phosphate, got it under control, got all tests within normal parameters. Was told by LFS safe to add fish in quite early (2 weeks of owning tank). Tank has been thriving with 2 emerald crabs, conch, sea star, 2 clowns, sand sifting goby, sailfin tang, and blue tang.

TANK & EQUIPMENT:
125g with 20g sump
filter socks
protein skimmer
chaeto algae
1x maxspect gyre xf350 cloud and controller
marinepure biofilter media balls

PROBLEM: