Best Pellets for Auto Feeder that Actually Sink?

splix

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using my apex auto feeder for a couple years now on my old tank which was larger, so I had a lot more aggressive fish. Now that I've downsized I just found a small issue with feeding while I'm away. When the AFS drops food, most of it stays on the surface without actually sinking. I'm using the 1mm sinking pellets from NLS. They do sink if they're able to break the surface tension but thats not the case coming from the AFS. They're too light weight to break the surface tension and just float. It wasnt a problem before because I had such aggressive eaters, they would gobble everything up in a few seconds from the surface. Now though, most pellets stay floating on the surface and will eventually go down the overflow.

What are some good foods to put in the auto feeder that will actually sink below the surface so I dont have to worry about 95% of it going down the back?
I have my pumps shut off during the feed cycle so that the overflow has no suction for a few minutes to help keep food out from going behind. As long as the food sinks below the surface it'll be fine.

jazzmik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using my apex auto feeder for a couple years now on my old tank which was larger, so I had a lot more aggressive fish. Now that I've downsized I just found a small issue with feeding while I'm away. When the AFS drops food, most of it stays on the surface without actually sinking. I'm using the 1mm sinking pellets from NLS. They do sink if they're able to break the surface tension but thats not the case coming from the AFS. They're too light weight to break the surface tension and just float. It wasnt a problem before because I had such aggressive eaters, they would gobble everything up in a few seconds from the surface. Now though, most pellets stay floating on the surface and will eventually go down the overflow.