Bill's 100G Build!

Isletime

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So Just my 2nd post on R2R and I'm starting my build thread. I'm a long time lurker and up till now I have been maintaining a 30G AIO for the past 3 years. Time to step up my game and empty my wallet.

This build has been in the planning stages for about a year. I considered a dozen different tanks and sizes and ultimately decided to go with a custom 100G build from Reef Savvy. Included with the tank is a custom glass-holes 1500gph overflow. My understanding is that right now this overflow is only available through a tank purchase with Reef Savvy. The overflow is 24" long and about 1.5" deep. The tank finally showed up last week and I've spent the weekend doing plumbing, a leak test, etc.

IMG_7982-M.jpg

One of my primary goals with this build was to reduce the weekly maintenance, primarily water changes. I take my water changes seriously and I rarely miss a week of doing a 12-15% water change on my 30G tank. Keeping up with this on a larger tank was one of the largest concerns that delayed my move. I will be doing daily automated water changes with this new tank using a mixing station that I have built in my basement and a Litermeter 3 to do the water exchange. Right now I'm planning on exchanging 2-3 gallons per day with this setup. If there is interest I'll detail how all of this will work in a later post. I'll also be handling top-off with this same system.

Here is a picture of where the tank will be sitting. We put some ceramic tile in place to help keep the carpet from getting destroyed. That black circle towards the back is where the the Polyethylene RO tubing will go down into the basement for the water changes.

UF8A6053-M.jpg