Bio cube 29

michaust

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello I'm new to saltwater tanks I have a bio cube 29, 20 lbs live sand, 11 lbs live rock. This is just day three of the tank being up and running I also got the salt water from the store right out of their tank my question is I've tested the water the nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia all read 0 the ph reads 8 my hydrometer is reading 1.025. Are these readings good

samba_dad

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well it means your tank has not cycled. So you will need to get a chilled shrimp from your grocery store and toss it in there for a few weeks until you get a sizable ammonia measurement. This will be followed by spikes in nitrite and measurable nitrate. Once ammonia and nitrite go back to zero your tank will be cycled.

It will be important to not put any fish in your tank for 6 weeks. The reason why is the water came straight from their tank and their fish could have ick - a common parasite. Six weeks will be enough time to ensure the parasite has died because it does not have a host.

Are you planning a reef tank or a fish only tank? If you are doing fish only sounds like you are in good shape.

Good luck! Make sure to check your fish compatibility on R2R to avoid issues in your tank.

OP
OP
michaust

michaust

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I want to do a reef with a couple fish like a pair of clowns some corals maybe an anenome and a flame angel

OP
OP
michaust

michaust

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also I removed all the bio balls and ordered a media basket with chemi pure elite just waiting for those to be delivered

samba_dad

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with ditching the bio balls the live rock is your biological filter now.