Bit of a rant here. Caribsea shouldn’t sell their painted dry rocks as ‘live rock’

jrill

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As a newbie here I researched and decided I needed live rock to put into my aquarium. I go the aquarium store and buy ‘Caribsea live rock’. I did wonder how it could be alive without being in water but I just assumed it lay dormant or something lol.

Went to a better aquarium store and quickly came to realise my rock is a dry rock not a live rock.

it’s so misleading! How can they be allowed to do that?!
As others have said its not called live rock.

A Young Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Every reefer i know personaly, reffers to live rock as type of rock, not state of rock.....

Live rock is calcium carbonate skeletons and deposits from long time dead corals, covered by all sort of organism and living thing. And only place it can be acquired is...well, natural reef.

Its super light, very porous. And yes, it can be dry aka death, with no life on or in it.

Man made rock from shells, mortar, ceramics, land excavated rock - they all can serve purpose, but they are not live rock.

Take a hammer and hit one rock, real rock will shatter in milion of pieces. All other types of rock can crack but remain solid.

Take real rock and throw it in muriatic acid. In matter of minutes rock will totaly dissolve, because its only deposits of calcium carbonate....

We have sea here, and there's two type of rock it can be obtained from it - basicaly land rock who somehow ended in sea floor, and over time become porous, but its only on surface. Inside, its hard piece of rock.