Breeding the Banggai cardinalfish

dgiglio3087

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay so I have a pair of Banggai cardinalfish, and Im pretty sure my male is holding eggs. He is showing all the signs, first off I witnessed what I think was breeding, now the male hasnt eaten, for about 2 weeks or more, and HAD an enlarged mouth, but only for a few days (which I witnessed once before). So I wanna know is there any other reason why he wouldn't be eating? He otherwise is in good health. Also I've noticed my female is more aggressive , not so much protective ( she doesn't seem to be trying to keep other fish away from him), just move aggressive to the tank mates. I've read the article on that site breedersregistry.org , but feel like it's worth noting that this is my first time having fish spawn. Any tips are appreciated , thanks

foxhuntr

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
sounds like he has a mouthful to me .....my banggi's are always mating but he spits the babies in the rock work and they bet eaten by the tangs.....every once in awhile i find 1 or 2 babies swimming around and make it after they find a good hiding place.......good luck

OP
OP
dgiglio3087

dgiglio3087

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey thanks for sharing. Let me ask you though, after he would spit them out, he would start eating right away (within a day or two) right? And maybe someone who has raised the fry to market size can answer this but , if i put the male in a breeder net, will he be more Likey to hold them to term? And If so when's a good time to try to transfer him to either a breeders net or seperate aquarium? Its been sometime since he stopped eating. Thanks again to everyone for helping

Z-man

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I purchased a long spine urchin when mine started to breed for the babies to hide in, but if you can make one using kabob skewers, I think that would be better.

OP
OP