Brightwell NeoMarine question

lakeviewink

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using this for about 18 months now and am very happy with it.
That being said, I just opened a new 150g bucket and the last two 15g water changes I've mixed up have been screwy. It's been cloudy even after 24 hrs of mixing, there seems to be some precipitant on the pump and heater, and there is a blackish/greyish oily slick on the surface.
I thought the first batch I must've accidentally used a dirty pump or something but I know it was clean the second time around, I made sure of it. I also mixed up the salt mix more this time before using it, just in case of settling from shipping and storage.

My TDS is 000-001 so I don't think it's my water but something is causing this reaction. I checked the pH on the batch and it is 8.8 !?

Anyone out there have a similar experience or suggestion?

Last edited:

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd say if you suspect a dirty pump (oily??) then more than likely that was the issue. (Keep the reefing gear separate from the industrial gear!) Try mixing a batch without a pump (e.g. by hand) in a new container if you haven't already. (Could be just a small batch so that it's convenient.) Would be interesting to see if you got the same results.

In any case, if you really think it's the salt, I'd place a call to Brightwell for their take on it and post any results from the call too! :)

-Matt

OP
OP
lakeviewink

lakeviewink

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My point was, it's not the pump. Everything was thoroughly clean the second batch.
It's the chemistry. I was wondering if anyone else has had this issue?

OP
OP
lakeviewink

lakeviewink

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd say if you suspect a dirty pump (oily??) then more than likely that was the issue. (Keep the reefing gear separate from the industrial gear!)

-Matt