Bristle worm? Please help ID

choss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This just came in with Gulf Live Rock - please let me know if this is a good or bad hitch hiker

IMG_5915.JPG
IMG_5916.JPG

reef lover

It's a reef thing....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks more fire wormish than bristle...but I'm no expert...he wouldn't go in my tank...:)

OP
OP
choss

choss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reeflover thanks for the insight. Most of the pictures I have googled for fire worms look a bit different. Usually brighter colored and the bristles are a slightly different pattern. Anyone else want to weigh in?

OP
OP
choss

choss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn’t put it in my tank if it were me

yeah its been dealt with.. But I'm still curious. I have a lot of small bristle worms in another tank and they seem harmless. This guy was a bit bigger than what I've typically encountered in my other tanks.

cracker

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can Ya isolate this creature until we get a positive id? These things give me the creeps but still pretty cool !

OP
OP
choss

choss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah that is what I thought. He was just a bit too large for comfort. I'm sure i will have a bunch more in the rock. This rock was purchased from Gulfliverock and so far I haven't seen any other hitch hikers - kind of disappointed :D although I only ordered 25 lbs - mostly smaller rocks.

cracker

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How long? I understand they are ok in the tank.

Oldsalt01

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
An inch? Just a baby. I've had them in some of my tanks at 6"+. I used to trap them out. Now I just leave them alone. Good CUC and more biodiversity.

EmdeReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like a bristleworm. ugly but very useful.