BRS Reactor algae reactor

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by lion king, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. Jimbo662

    Jimbo662 Well-Known Member Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    720
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Nice...let's see how those perform!
     

  2. Flatlandreefer

    Flatlandreefer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    41
    Mine is up and running! Excited to see how this works. I was surprised how well the maxi jet did pumping all the way under my stand and still having good flow out of the return after pushing back up to the tank.

    IMG_3569.JPG
     
    lion king likes this.
  3. lion king

    lion king Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    756
    Careful with flow, I've actually had better success on more moderate flow. If the chaeto being pushed up to the top it's likely too fast. If it's works for you that's fine, I've just had better luck when I dialed it back and had the chaeto somewhat stationary in the reactor.
     
  4. Flatlandreefer

    Flatlandreefer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    41
    I wrapped my chaeto around the pvc in the middle and it was at the top to begin with so it's not the flow pushing it up.
     
  5. Boxfish

    Boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    Would this work with a BRS mini reactor or will it be too small? Thanks. Z
     
  6. Flatlandreefer

    Flatlandreefer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    41
    I think it would be too small to have much effect, you would need to harvest chaeto constantly I would think.
     
  7. Boxfish

    Boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    How often do everyone clean their BRS cheeto reactor out now? Mine is hanging off the back of my tank and it is still using the harder white flex so it is harder to pull to clean because of the angle an small hole it runs into my rear chambers of my RSM 130d. I'm using where the water cooling fan normally goes.
     
  8. lion king

    lion king Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    756
    There are a few factors: tank size, nutrient level, and lighting cycle. I have 2 other reactors, I operate a similar sized as the large reactor on a BC29 with moderate nutrients on a 8 hr cycle-once a month. This new BRS reactor I used on a 20g QT I had to do several feeding a day-2 weeks. I start with filling 1/3 to 1/2.
     
  9. Flatlandreefer

    Flatlandreefer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    41
    Quick update on my reactor. So far everything is working great. It's been about a week and a half, chaeto has about doubled in size and gha on rocks is starting to fade away. So far I am happy that I installed the reactor. I have also been feeding my fish more than I used to.
     
    lion king likes this.
  10. jasonrusso

    jasonrusso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Haverhill, MA
    I tried the same thing as you. I even added the 1/2" PVC pipe. I bought the TLF Phosban 550 because I didn't like unscrewing the canister with the lights installed. The TLF has a cap on top.
     
    Flatlandreefer likes this.
  11. Hockeypunk1

    Hockeypunk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    27
    Nice! I did a lazy version of this a couple months ago. I need to modify it similar to yours. Mine works more as a turf algae scrubber although it does grow the chaeto too. I use a 18 or so watt Chinese red and blue par 38 bulb. I just harvested it yesterday. 1504703534645818575919.jpg
     
    Flatlandreefer likes this.
  12. ramona

    ramona Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    8
    would be possible to use an algae reactor on 10 g cube with eheim canister filter?
     
  13. lion king

    lion king Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    756
    I've thought about that; you would have to use the completely submersible leds and figure a way to seal it from where you run the led line.
     
  14. Thad disbrow

    Thad disbrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What type of glue did you use to glue the pvc to the strainer?

    Thanks!
     
  15. lion king

    lion king Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    756
    I think I just used some reef safe silicone, I was in no hurry. You can use super glue if you want.
     
  16. kinetic

    kinetic Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    Albany, CA
    How are you keeping the lights cool enough to not damage the reactor?
     
  17. lion king

    lion king Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    756
    No worries, the lights don't get hot enough to cause any issue.
     
  18. Reef of Fillory

    Reef of Fillory Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    My lights are getting very hot on the reactor... I used:

    These Lights:
     
  19. helldiver

    helldiver Well-Known Member Louisiana Reef Club

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Slidell,LA
    Can u send me the link to light you used.I have noticed the same thing. .
    I get the type of algae u get when i run my algae scrubber
    I thought it was my water quality it has been drivung me crazy
    Thank you

    Message_1506272338403.jpg

    20170829_054008_HDR.jpg
     
  20. BigHildy53

    BigHildy53 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I have the Phillips Hue system. I repurposed one of their light strip I purchased for a different reason. I can choose whatever color I want
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...