BRS Reactor algae reactor

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by lion king, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. NY_Caveman

    NY_Caveman Man of Many Caves R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    7,948
    Location:
    New York
    Very cool. Thanks for this thread. I am considering the same thing. I am very interested that you ran this under the aquarium as I intend to do. That is my chief concern as someone who never used a reactor before. Would a pump be able to send the water up 1 foot, down 4 feet to the reactor, get a proper tumble/flow for chaeto and then return the water up 4 feet to the display? Have you have any issues with pressure, or is it working fine? Any pressure stress anywhere through the canister or tubing? Still using the same pump? Thanks!
     

  2. Reef of Fillory

    Reef of Fillory Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    My reactor did not work on my system, so I ended up putting in a refugium with an H380. Much less fuss
     
  3. NY_Caveman

    NY_Caveman Man of Many Caves R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    7,948
    Location:
    New York
    What did not work? Pressure? Nutrient removal? Other?
     
  4. Reef of Fillory

    Reef of Fillory Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Everything, Chaeto didn't really grow, the LED's overheated the canister by a lot, pieces of chaeto got shot back into the tank (used plastic screen), the reactor was a pain to load/unload getting water everywhere etc. I wouldn't go back to a reactor since the normal refugium works so well. I ended up drilling my Biocube to put in a sump/refugium instead of messing with the DIY reactor


    It has seemed to work well for some others however
     
    NY_Caveman likes this.
  5. lion king

    lion king Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    There is no tumble in the reactor, the point of tumble is to get light to all sides, in the reactor with the lights wrapped around, there's no issue.
    Too much flow can actually be more detrimental; I'm using a cobalt mj1200(262gph) on 2 reactors, one on a bc29 going from back chamber #2 to the 1st shelf underneath and back, on the other it's perpendicular to a sump and I dial it back by about 1/3. I use a cheap aquatop 192gph pump for another going up 4 feet. There is no pressure, it's only flow, so no stress. A cobalt aquatics mj1200 is a very versatile pump that would fit this application perfectly. If you use the murlock ball valves you can even dial it back if necessary, and it makes maintenance a breeze.
     
    NY_Caveman likes this.
  6. NY_Caveman

    NY_Caveman Man of Many Caves R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    7,948
    Location:
    New York
    Awesome! Thanks for the response.
     
  7. Shelbytwp123

    Shelbytwp123 Active Member Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    MIchigan
    can these cheto reactors be placed in sump since i have no dry room under my stand as is?
     
  8. lion king

    lion king Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,326
     
  9. Shelbytwp123

    Shelbytwp123 Active Member Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    MIchigan
    i ended up going with outside the sump and getting
    MBR127 MACROALGAE REACTOR
    seems to work good thus far. 2 weeks and harvested quite bit out of it since i only started with 2 small bits of cheto in reactor to begin with. reason i went with this designs 1)i had room in sump 2) didn't want to chance it on developing a leak outside the sump and getting my stand and floors damaged and 3 i couldn't afford the other Pox Bellium or however you spell it
     
  10. lion king

    lion king Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Looks like a good unit, the purpose of this thread was to inspire people to repurpose what they already had but weren't using; or to inexpensively build their own. I had 2 aquamaxx biopellet reactors that running bioplellets didn't work for me. I had 2 brs media reactors that I found using as media reactors to be tedious with no or very little difference than just placing the media on a rack beneath the bubble trap sponge in my sump.

    I'm working on a diy algae scrubber now; a build thread with follow in a week or 2. I spend plenty of money but just can't justify spending $400, my build budget for this project is $100.
     
    Idoc likes this.
  11. MrineLfRlz

    MrineLfRlz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Eldon, MO
    following along!
     
  12. Jbod77

    Jbod77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    OYSTER BAY, NY
    Can't wait to get mine going
     
  13. Jbod77

    Jbod77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    OYSTER BAY, NY
    Any updates? i plan on going online this weekend....
     
  14. lion king

    lion king Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,326
  15. ranchhand02

    ranchhand02 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    29
    Great looking reactor. I am thinking of adding one to my nano cube 28 gallon.
     
  16. lion king

    lion king Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Do it!, on a 28g you'll be so happy you'll consider not doing water changes any more. You'll find your tank staying cleaner as well, algae reactors rock.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...