Bubble Magus Curve 3.5 Skimmer

Ecotech Marine

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16
Recently transferred my 40gallon into a 100 gallon. Want to use this skimmer for now as the bioload hasn't changed and not really planning on more fish, just coral.

My skimmer is in 7.25" of water and unfortunately I can't make it any deeper. The skimmer has been going nuts for 2 weeks despite coming from the old system.

Can't adjust past about 3.5-4 on the dial otherwise I get a bunch of bubbles out the bottom of the skimmer.

Is this a waiting game again due to the new system?

Is there something different I can do?

Is there a skimmer out there that can be in that depth of water??

Thank you!!!
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

PeterC99

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
2,031
Reaction score
6,514
Location
White Plains, NY
Yes waiting game. Did you use epoxy for rock structures? Mine took 2 1/2 weeks to break in. Have to let skimmer break in to new system. You should be close in that depth of water for your skimmers recommended depth.
 
OP
Thawman

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16
Yes waiting game. Did you use epoxy for rock structures? Mine took 2 1/2 weeks to break in. Have to let skimmer break in to new system. You should be close in that depth of water for your skimmers recommended depth.
I used the Aquaforest Stone Fix. That's what I'm a bit worried about is the recommended depth is 8-10"
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
OP
Thawman

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16
What if you increased the water level by dropping into the skimmer section a chunk of live rock?
Hmmm, I could, but that would just increase the level in the return pump chamber, but I suppose if I did that high enough the level in the skimmer chamber would rise.
 
OP
Thawman

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16
U can fill ur sump up past the baffles height but be careful when the power goes out that the volume dosent overflow the sump. All i got. Lol
D
I just may have to do that, was trying to keep from doing that but if that's what has to be, then so be it!!

Thankfully I have back check valves so very little flows back into the sump!!
 
Zoanthids
OP
Thawman

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16

Attachments

  • 20210620_164813.jpg
    20210620_164813.jpg
    104.2 KB · Views: 10
  • 20210620_164836.jpg
    20210620_164836.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 10
  • 20210620_164847.jpg
    20210620_164847.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 10
OP
Thawman

Thawman

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
16
This is about the most open I can have the control valve without bubbles coming out the bottom of the skimmer.
 

Attachments

  • 20210620_165034.mp4
    8.8 MB · Views: 0

monkeyCmonkeyDo

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
4,580
Reaction score
4,210
Location
Puyallup, Wa USA
U have it at 3. Id turn it to off. The lowest setting. Give it a good 24-48hr run time. Than increase to 2
U will prob be skimming at 2.
The micro bubbles in the sump area coming from the bottom of ur skimmer will halt after break in i agree with the others.
-d
 

Glenner’sreef

1968 - 2021 definitely “HOOKED”
View Badges
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
441
Reaction score
1,392
Location
ARIZONA
Hmmm, I could, but that would just increase the level in the return pump chamber, but I suppose if I did that high enough the level in the skimmer chamber would rise.
Is it at all possible to place the skimmer in the return pump chamber and and put the return pump in the skimmer section?
 
Fritz

Do you care whether or not you have wave action in your reef tank?

  • YES

    Votes: 218 40.7%
  • SOMEWHAT

    Votes: 143 26.7%
  • NO

    Votes: 168 31.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 7 1.3%
Inkbird
Top