Can my floor hold my aquarium?

BillyP

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently bought a 125 gallon aquarium and want to know if my floor can support it. The ceiling below the aquarium runs 2x12 16 feet long at 16 inches apart parallel to the aquarium. The total weight of the aquarium is about 250lbs per square foot. I'm trying to get a hold of a structural engineer right now. Thanks!

mitch91175

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently bought a 125 gallon aquarium and want to know if my floor can support it. The ceiling below the aquarium runs 2x12 16 feet long at 16 inches apart parallel to the aquarium. The total weight of the aquarium is about 250lbs per square foot. I'm trying to get a hold of a structural engineer right now. Thanks!

I would say if it cannot you may want to rebuild your house. 125 isn’t a terribly large aquarium. But I am not a structural engineer so take that with a grain of salt. If it were me I’d just set it up. Now if you where going much larger like 400 gallon I may be slightly concerned. Also consider supporting walls. It will definitely offset stress points.

Sarah24!

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

If you put this tank on a wall bearing support wall then yes. However, your tank may only weigh 225 but when it’s loaded with 125 pounds of rock, 125 pounds of sand, plus your stand, plus water which is 8.5 pounds times 125 is 1,062.5 + 225 for tank, maybe 120 pounds stand, 125 pounds of rock, and 125 pounds of sand that’s about 1,675 pounds actually.

If this is in the middle of your floor or not on a wall bearing support wall, I would reinforce your floor. If the tank is not level, it could possibly break a seal and leak.

OP
OP
B

BillyP

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0