canister filters?

Scurvy

Pirate Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ive been considering trying a 40B LPS/Softie tank with a canister but haven’t decided either way. Usually read about people calling them nutrient sinks though the majority that say it have probably never tried it. IMO I’m more Likely to drag a canister to the tub for a thorough cleaning than I am to drag out the hoses and buckets for a water change....

Homebrewer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve only ever run canister filters, never had a sump. Will never doubt the benefits of a sump and will never claim a canister is better. That said, you can absolutely keep a reef tank with a canister, I’ve been doing it since 2006. Happy to answer any questions you might have.

Tiger Brown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've run my salt tanks with canisters since 1989 and am running my 55 with one still today. If I had a large tank I think a sump is the way to go, but I don't have a large tank, and I don't have the room or utilities to run a sump.

I struggle to keep my NO3 and PO4 above 0, no nutrient sink here. I clean and change my carbon once a month religiously.

Calm Blue Ocean

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My softie tank seemed to run just fine on a cannister. I cleaned it every week but resented it every time. I hated cleaning it.

On the positive side, I will agree with the poster who said you're more likely to give it a deep cleaning regularly than other options. I mean, if you've got it all unhooked and open to replace media, might as well! In fact, my tank probably was cleaner with the cannister than it is with my HOB equipment. But it wasn't easier.