Chaeto Trouble

Brandon Rush

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm new to the whole chaeto scene, and need a little help. I'm currently running a H80 Tuna Flora on grow mode for 12 hours a day opposite my display light. For some reason the chaeto does not seem to be growing, and just maintaining it's size. I'm wondering if it's not getting enough light or nutrients? I feed pretty heavily and my phosphates and nitrates are still present. I also have a small power head to keep the flow in the sump. Current sump size is 20 gallons. Can anyone help? It seems I have quite a bit of brown/hair algae in the sunp that I have to periodically clean.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If its new to the sump and you have hair algae, it might be short on nutrients. It will take off, if you keep removing the hair algae. By removing the hair algae you are removing phosphates and nitrates which is why you are growing chaeto.

OP
OP
Brandon Rush

Brandon Rush

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If its new to the sump and you have hair algae, it might be short on nutrients. It will take off, if you keep removing the hair algae. By removing the hair algae you are removing phosphates and nitrates which is why you are growing chaeto.

It's been in there about two months, not sure what's taking the chaeto so long to take off. Does the hair algae grow quicker than the cheato.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One can be a a problem for another. Hair is very good at crowding out other things. It grows faster and chaeto may not grow much for you if you have had it 2 months. You might be successful if you have enough chaeto to block the light so the hair cannot photosynthesize. I had trouble growing it in my fuge once. I switched to a different matting macro algae and it grew like crazy smothering every thing else.

OP
OP
Brandon Rush

Brandon Rush