Brightwell Chaetogro review

DarkTonio

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Disclaimer: I do not have any tie whatsoever with the company and bought the product for myself. Honest review with anecdotal evidence.

I have been growing chaeto in a Tunze reactof for 2.5 years. The main issue was that each time after 2 crops, the remaining chaeto was slowly declining.
Despite stable NO3 around 20ppm and PO4 around 0.05, the chaeto would simply die and melt in the reactor over a couple of months.
It means I had to buy new batches regularly on the Bay. Until recently.
I have been using Chaeto gro for the last 6 months on a dosing pump for daily dosing, diluted in RO water (10 to 1) in a fully opaque black bottle.
Since then, nothing changed in my tank except that I can harvest chaeto each month and it would grow again without any issue.
It remains as healthy as the first day. I made an ICP test and all parameters are fine. Chaeto-gro has not increased undesired parameter.
I believe this product works great.

therootcause

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice anecdotal review. Now that you're a chaeto farmer, how has this benefited your tank?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have doses for that tablet?
From a different thread:

My recommendation is a DIY:

Fergon tablets (from a drug store).

One Fergon tablet (ferrous gluconate) contains 27 mg of iron. Dissolve that in about 27 mL RO/DI (my recommendation, but other concentrations are OK, just don't dilute too much), the concentration is about 27 mg/27 ml ~ 1 mg/mL.

I dose ~1 mL to my tank with a volume of about 300 gallons once or twice a week.

OP
OP
DarkTonio

DarkTonio

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@DarkTonio How large is your tank and how much do you dose each day?