Chaeto Turning White

Apheoxx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I am new to the refugium world. My Chaeto is turning white in some spots, but definitely has enough light. I run the AI Prime Fuge on 60% for a 10 hour photo period that was acclimated at 50% of that onward.

Secondly, I might not have enough flow, because I rigged up a baffle in my sump and it is not a water tight section. I try to flip the Chaeto every time I clean my filter floss, but now I’ve started flipping every night. I don’t want my Chaeto to crash.

Lastly, on the nutrients end of the spectrum. I definitely have enough nitrates, but I am not sure on the phosphates because the Hanna reagents are on back-order. I know that there has to be some type of nutrients, nitrates linger around 15-20 depending on my rate of feeding.

I need help trying to keep my Chaeto prospering to ensure nutrient reduction. Thank you!

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How high up is the light mounted. The chaeto doesn't become "crispy" right?

Definitely find out the phosphate level. You can get a cheap test kit like the salifert one in the mean time.

What all do you dose in the tank (i.e. any trace elements)?

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dose some chaeto grow to help make sure it's getting enough nutrients. Made mine grow huge. Also if it is not tumbling you need to manually rotate it so all sided get some light. I do mine like every 4 or 5 days.

OP
OP
A

Apheoxx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How high up is the light mounted. The chaeto doesn't become "crispy" right?

Definitely find out the phosphate level. You can get a cheap test kit like the salifert one in the mean time.

What all do you dose in the tank (i.e. any trace elements)?
I do not dose and the light is 5-7 inches above the water.

OP
OP
A

Apheoxx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0