Changing Aquascape on Established Aquarium

NorCalReefing

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone. I’m new here so trying this all out.

First off, I have a Reefer 750 (est 2019) that’s been somewhat neglected. Not going to bore people with why but it involved having lots of infants in the house due to Covid). Now kids are in all day care and I have no money!

Anyway, I was an impatient noob when setting this all up and ended up using the “balance the rocks and hold it together with underwater epoxy” method. And as a result, I really hated the overall look.

So here’s my plan (please feel free to call out any mistakes here):

First off, had a lot of used rock that dried out long ago. It’s currently being bleached in a bin in my backyard with RO water. Once it’s sat for 7 days, I’m going to hose it down and let it dry out completely. Then into a bucket with fresh RO, some flow and dechlorinator. I’ll leave it for a month with a few water changes.

I’ll then build out a rock structure using the BRS method by smashing up larger pieces and gluing them together to create a more interesting aquascape. Since my end goal is to keep both SPS and zoas, the goal will be to create natural looking shelves that keep the zoas and acans on the lower half of the tank.

Now obviously I’m concerned about replacing rock in an established aquarium with newly cured rock. I was also thinking of replacing the sand under each rock while I was at it.

If I only replace a third of the tank at a time ( and go slow ) will this allow the new rock to be properly seeded by the old? Does anyone know how long that could take?

Additionally, will this potentially trigger nuisance algae?

Appreciate your suggestions and feedback.

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0