Classroom Nano Tank

Ricky Kremer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me start by saying that I am a new reefer and have had a tank for over a year now. I recently have become interested in nano tanks. I am also a high school science teacher. I thought it would be fun to bring the reef into the class room. I have a 10 gal. tank that was just sitting around. I cleaned it up, added rock and sand and began to cycle. I am letting the students take ownership over the tank by choosing what goes into it (with my guidance of course). I thought It would also be fun to track the progress, successes, failures, and learning opportunities here. I will add some pictures in the next post. Hope you all enjoy this as much as the kids have so far!

RK

OP
OP
R

Ricky Kremer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I don't believe in a paddle lol. Glad you are following. I am going to try to get the kids to give some feedback/write ups as well. I really what this to be a learning experience.

samnaz

Earthling
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
fantastic idea. so what do you teach, biology? would be super cool to look at the microscopic marine life under a scope. I know that seeing life under a scope opened my eyes to a whole other world... but that wasn't until college. if only i'd seen it sooner.

OP
OP
R

Ricky Kremer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
fantastic idea. so what do you teach, biology? would be super cool to look at the microscopic marine life under a scope. I know that seeing life under a scope opened my eyes to a whole other world... but that wasn't until college. if only i'd seen it sooner.

I actually teach the physical science classes. Physics and chemistry.

OP
OP
R

Ricky Kremer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0