Clownfish Problems

10galtank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m quite new to this saltwater game. This is my first tank, previously used for years with freshwater. I preformed an ultra-supervised fish-in cycle. I used the clownfish and damsel, then once finished, added a cleaner shrimp and green Duncan coral frag.

My clownfish has yet to eat and it’s been plus or minus two weeks. Sometimes he will look at the food, but turn away. I’ve tried to feed him frozen mysis, frozen brine, live brine, flakes, pellets, and have even used garlic extract. I can confirm the damsel is not bothering him since he doesn’t mind him— and all the damsel does is hide as well but he hides in the LR structure. All my clownfish does it sit in the bottom corner. He keeps opening and closing his mouth and rubbing his side on the substrate. He stays very far away from everything in the tank, including structure. When he does decide to swim, it’s very odd— almost like he’s blindly swimming— sometimes he’ll stare at the surface.

Everywhere I go, I see clownfish freely swimming as happy as could be so it’s very frustrating to see mine live an almost sad life.

Tank Setup:
10 gallon
Fluval cp1 powerhead (pointed at surface)
image.jpg

5w heater (78 F)
Canister filter with Biomedia + Charcoal
5lb live rock
5lb live sand
Small amount of gravel

Cycle Info:
Dosing of beneficial bacteria daily
Dosing of Seachem prime daily

General Maintenance:
Seachem stability daily
Seachem prime daily
Salinity check and adjustments if needed

Important:
-Ammonia is 0.05ppm but the Seachem prime detoxifies it for the fish.
-I also use distilled water, no tap water.
-I have paid copious amounts of time to supervising this clownfish, no signs of disease whatsoever. He pooped clear since he is not eating.
-The most he has ever done is chew on a flake or two, but spit them out.